October 2016: Conference Bulletin

Wednesday, October 26th, 2016


Conference Countdown

20 days until the conference

10 spots remaining

130 elected women already registered

50+ hours of conference programming that you don’t want to miss

What’s missing? You! The numbers are adding up and the clock is counting down!

Registration and lodging reservation deadline is November 2!

Register Here!

Click here for the Agenda at a Glance!



NFWL/NRA 19th Annual Scholarship Winners


Congratulations to the 19th Annual NFWL/NRA Bill of Rights Essay Scholarship Contest! Six winners whose essays were selected will receive a $3,000 scholarship towards college and an all-expense-paid trip to the 2016 Annual Conference. 

2016 Scholarship Winners are:

Darcy Farwell of Valdosta, GA

Olivia Hoynes of Greenville, NC

Suzan Kim of Cresskill, NJ

Christal Lee of Layton, UT

Ashia Lewis of Arlington, TX

Florence Sliger of Asotin, WA

2016 Women of Excellence Honorees

ribbonThis award was established in 2013 as part of NFWL’s 75th Anniversary Celebration in order to honor the hard work and dedication of women leaders from across the country. The 2016 Women of Excellence winners will be presented with an award at the Toast to the Women of Excellence Ceremony at the Loews Portofino Bay Hotel on Wednesday, November 16th, during the 2016 Annual Conference in Orlando, Florida.


  • Representative Joan Ballweg (WI)
  • Senator Jennifer Beck (NJ)
  • Representative Patti Bellock (IL)
  • Representative Stephanie Bolden (DE)
  • Representative Brenda Barton (AZ)
  • Representative Daphne Campbell (FL)
  • Representative Karen Camper (TN)
  • Mayor Tammy DeWeerd (ID)
  • Representative Margaret Doherty (OR)
  • Representative Karla Drenner (GA)
  • Councilwoman Charlotte Farmer (TX)
  • Representative Raye Felder (SC)
  • Senator Kay Floyd (OK)
  • Senator AJ Griffin (OK)
  • Representative Ellie Hill Smith (MT)
  • Representative Debbie Hudson (DE)
  • Representative Themis Klarides (CT)
  • Councilwoman Milagros Lecuona (NY)
  • Representative Pat McElraft (NC)
  • City Clerk Brenna McGee (MA)
  • Representative Helena Moreno (LA)
  • Representative Patricia Morgan (RI)
  • Councilwoman Jennifer Mossotti (KY)
  • Assemblywomen Nancy Munoz (NJ)
  • Senator Carla Nelson (MN)
  • Representative Lynne Ober (NH)
  • Representative Cherrish Pryor (IN)
  • Governor Gina Raimondo (RI)
  • Representative Holly Raschein (FL)
  • Representative Holly Rehder (MO)
  • Representative Bobbie Richardson (NC)
  • County Clerk Sherry Simmons (WV)
  • Representative Heather Sirocki (ME)
  • Representative Lisa Subeck (WI)
  • Councilwoman Karen Toles (MD)
  • Councilwoman Virginia Vaughn (CA)
  • Senator Rebekah Warren (MI)
  • Senator Loretta Weinberg (NJ)
  • Representative Kimberly Williams (DE)
  • Representative Sonya Williams Barnes (MS)
  • Senator Cynthia Wolken (MT)

NFWL Recap & Reminders


Dome Tour in Harrisburg, PApa-dome-tour

On Monday, October 17th, NFWL’s State Director Pennsylvania State Representative Tarah Toohil hosted a reception at the Pennsylvania State Capitol. NFWL’s Executive Director Jody Thomas was among the 20+ elected women in attendance for the Evening Reception in the Main Rotunda at the Main Capitol Building.

If you are interested in inviting Representative Keeley or another NFWL Elected Board Member to your state to host a Dome Tour event, contact Allison Jensen at allison@womenlegislators.org.



Don’t Forg14708197_1186853408028317_4792133239379276381_net!

#NFWLgoesPINK THIS FRIDAY, October 28.

#PINKOUT Breast Cancer by wearing your favorite pink attire and post your pictures using #NFWLgoesPINK. Make sure to send them to morgan@womenlegislators.org so we can see how pink you are!






Follow Us on Social Media: