Wednesday, June 23rd, 2021


Tired of ads? Subscribers enjoy a distraction-free reading experience.
Click here to subscribe today or Login.
BUTLER TWP. — Rep. Tarah Toohil Tuesday was appointed as majority chair of the House Government Oversight Committee for the 2021-22 Legislative Session by House Majority Leader Kerry Benninghoff.

Toohil, R-Butler Township, served as a committee member during the last session.

Toohil said it is an honor to be chosen as majority chair of the Government Oversight Committee.

“The previous bipartisan work of the committee set an important precedent which I hope to continue,” Toohil said. “I look forward to leading the committee and ensuring that Pennsylvanians are afforded the needed oversight they deserve relating to the operation of state agencies and how their tax dollars are spent.”

Created in 2019, the committee reviews matters referred by the House speaker, majority leader or minority leader, and has standing subpoena power to use during its investigations.

The committee is comprised of five members of the majority party and four members of the minority party in the House of Representatives.

Toohil brings her experience as an attorney to the leadership role and is the first woman to be appointed to the position. Unlike other House standing committees, the Government Oversight Committee is unique in that its chair is appointed by the majority leader rather than based on tenure.

“Throughout her career, Rep. Toohil has been a strong voice for government accountability in children and youth protection and making Pennsylvania a better place for families,” Benninghoff said. “With tremendous legal skills and the voice of a committed advocate, Rep. Toohil will ensure government is held accountable with her appointment as chair to this important committee.”

Other members of the committee include: Reps. John Hershey (R-Mifflin/Juniata/Franklin), John Lawrence (R-Chester/Lancaster), Eric Nelson (R-Westmoreland), Todd Stephens (R-Montgomery), Matthew Bradford (D-Montgomery), Margo Davidson (D-Delaware), Jordan Harris (D-Philadelphia) and Dan Miller (D-Allegheny). Bradford was reappointed to serve as minority chair.

Committee activities can be followed online at, on Facebook at, and on Twitter at

Follow this link to read more.