REVISED: The National Foundation for Women Legislators Announces 2016 Elected Women of Excellence Honorees

Wednesday, October 26th, 2016

IMMEDIAFinal Vertical CroppedTE RELEASE: The National Foundation for Women Legislators Announces 2016 Elected Women of Excellence Honorees


Media Inquiries:
Morgan Arnold, 703-518-7931, [email protected] 


(ALEXANDRIA, VA) – The National Foundation for Women Legislators (NFWL) is proud to announce their 2016 Elected Women of Excellence Award Winners.img_0963

This award was established in 2013 as part of NFWL’s 75th Anniversary Celebration in order to honor the hard work and dedication of women leaders from across the country.

The 2016 Women of Excellence winners will be presented with an award at the Toast to the Women of Excellence ceremony at the Loews Portofino Bay Hotel on Wednesday, November 16th, during the 2016 Annual Conference in Orlando, Florida.

“We are thrilled to acknowledge these women,” remarks NFWL Chair and Delaware Representative, Helene Keeley.  “They showcase the strong leadership qualities, focused work ethic, and determination that we try to instill in young women across the nation, and deserve to be recognized for their tremendous efforts.”

2016 Elected Women of Excellence Honorees

  • Representative Joan Ballweg (WI)
  • Senator Jennifer Beck (NJ)
  • Representative Patti Bellock (IL)
  • Representative Stephanie Bolden (DE)
  • Representative Brenda Barton (AZ)
  • Representative Daphne Campbell (FL)
  • Representative Karen Camper (TN)
  • Mayor Tammy DeWeerd (ID)
  • Representative Margaret Doherty (OR)
  • Representative Karla Drenner (GA)
  • Councilwoman Charlotte Farmer (TX)
  • Representative Raye Felder (SC)
  • Senator Kay Floyd (OK)
  • Senator AJ Griffin (OK)
  • Representative Ellie Hill Smith (MT)
  • Representative Debbie Hudson (DE)
  • Representative Themis Klarides (CT)
  • Councilwoman Milagros Lecuona (NY)
  • Representative Pat McElraft (NC)
  • City Clerk Brenna McGee (MA)
  • Representative Helena Moreno (LA)
  • Representative Patricia Morgan (RI)
  • Councilwoman Jennifer Mossotti (KY)
  • Assemblywomen Nancy Munoz (NJ)
  • Senator Carla Nelson (MN)
  • Representative Lynne Ober (NH)
  • Representative Cherrish Pryor (IN)
  • Governor Gina Raimondo (RI)
  • Representative Holly Raschein (FL)
  • Representative Holly Rehder (MO)
  • Representative Bobbie Richardson (NC)
  • County Clerk Sherry Simmons (WV)
  • Representative Heather Sirocki (ME)
  • Representative Lisa Subeck (WI)
  • Councilwoman Karen Toles (MD)
  • Councilwoman Virginia Vaughn (CA)
  • Senator Rebekah Warren (MI)
  • Senator Loretta Weinberg (NJ)
  • Representative Kimberly Williams (DE)
  • Representative Sonya Williams Barnes (MS)
  • Senator Cynthia Wolken (MT)

The winners were nominated by their colleagues and constituents from their home states and then chosen by a distinguished panel of NFWL members.

“We congratulate our winners from this year and look forward to sharing their future successes,” Representative Keely concludes.


About the National Foundation For Women Legislators, Inc. (NFWL) Through annual educational and networking events, the National Foundation for Women Legislators supports elected women from all levels of governance.   As a non-profit, non-partisan organization, NFWL does not take ideological positions on public policy issues, but rather serves as a forum for women legislators to be empowered through information and experience.