2017 Committees

NFWL Committee Members play a vital role in all aspects of our organization. They work to develop future NFWL events and programs, while also contributing to the development of the organization as a whole. If you are interested in serving on a committee, please let us know by completing a Willingness to Serve form. Currently serving NFWL Committee Members are listed below.

Past Committees

2017 Committees

Chair: Rep. Helene Keeley (DE)

Committee Responsibilities:

  • Review the existing bylaws
  • Recommend changes
  • Present subsequent changes at the annual general membership meeting
  • Ensure the organization is in compliance with the bylaws

Members: Sen. Diane Allen (NJ), Rep. Ruth Briggs-King (DE), Freeholder Marie Hayes (NJ), Sen. Carrie Ruud (MN), Sen. Katrina Shealy (SC), Freeholder Director Patricia Walsh (NJ), Rep. Christine Watkins (UT)

Chair: Sen. Carrie Ruud (MN)

Committee Responsibilities:

This group of elected officials, private sector partners, and local organizations will collaborate with NFWL to:

  • Help raise funds
  • Provide in-kind donations
  • Recruit volunteers
  • Get items donated for the goody bags and help assemble them
  • Lend general support to the Annual Conference
  • Suggest and secure local political, corporate, and entertainment figures to attend the conference

Most importantly, members of the Conference Committee serve as ambassadors of the community, bringing the unique local character of the host city to conference guests from across the country.

Members: Rep. Regina Barr (MN), Jean Cottington (Minnesota House of Representatives), Scott Cottington (The Voyageur Company), Jim Erickson (Solomon Strategies), Rep. Mary Franson (MN), Tammy Gray (Chickasaw Nation), Sen. Karin Housley (MN), Sen. Mary Kiffmeyer (MN), Mayor Susan Kiley (NJ), Amy Koch (Hylden Law), Matt Lemke (Koch), Johnathan Lozier (Stateside Associates), Rep. Sandra Masin (MN), Dan McElroy (Hospitality Minnesota), Annette Meeks (Freedom Foundation of Minnesota),  Rep. Rena Moran (MN), Lisa Nelson (Walmart), Sen. Carla Nelson (MN), Breanna Olson (Target), Andrea Perzichilli (Redmond Associates Inc.), Rep. Roz Peterson (MN), Rep. Cindy Pugh (MN), John Reynolds (Minnesota House of Representatives), Margaret Reynolds (Stinson),  Leslie Rosedahl (Lockridge Grindal), Andrew Schriner (CenturyLink), Rep. Lisa Subeck (WI)

Co-Chairs: Rep. Kathy Bernier (WI) & Howie Hodges (Charter Communications)

Committee Responsibilities:

The Development Committee has oversight of the fundraising for NFWL and its programs, including the following responsibilities:

  • Review the fundraising plan and tools
  • Provide monthly review of the list of potential sponsors
  • Make recommendations to the Executive Director for potential sponsors
  • Reach out to corporations, associations, foundations and individuals for program underwriting and to individual NFWL members and State Directors for fundraising avenues
  • Work with State Directors to assist them in their fundraising activities
  • Attend meetings and calls of the committee

Members: Stephanie Bachula Warren (PepsiCo.), Rep. Karen Camper (TN), Rep. Ellie Hill Smith (MT), Sen. Donna Mercado Kim (HI), Sen. Katrina Shealy (SC)

Chair: Rep. Gayle Harrell (FL)

Committee Responsibilities:

Using their expansive network of connections in areas across the world, this committee will:

  • Establish relationships with individuals, organizations, corporations, and government officials in regions outside the United States
  • Identify and assess international travel opportunities, as well as the merits of such a trip
  • Build a transparent set of criteria and develop a review process for selecting trip participants to be approved by the Committee Chair and Board of Directors
  • Be responsible for selecting trip participants, using the approved criteria and process

Members: Mayor Michelle Arnold (NJ), Councilwoman Sherri Downing (MD), Rep. Maxine Grad (VT), Sen. Lorraine Inouye (HI), Councilwoman Stephanie Lynch (LA), Rep. Beth Martinez-Humenik (CO), Rep. Donna Oberlander (PA), Sen. Anastasia Pittman (OK), Councilwoman Kateri Walsh (MA), Sen. Cynthia Wolken (MT)

Chair: Mayor Deb Buzby-Cope (NJ)

Committee Responsibilities:

  • Ensure the proposed Board of Directors slate reflects the general membership to include geography, elected position, and party affiliation
  • Present the Directors’ slate at the Annual Conference to be put to a membership vote
  • Work in conjunction with the Chair in appointing members to committees and Committee Chairs
  • Electronically share the slate with the membership 30 days in advance of the Annual Conference

Members: Rep. Sharon Beasley-Teague (GA), Councilwoman Adrienne Fraley-Monillas (WA), County Supervisor Doris Karloff (NE), Rep. Phyllis Katsakiores (NH), Sen. Anastasia Pittman (OK), County Commissioner Martha Scott (MI), Rep. Michelle Ugenti-Rita (AZ)

Co-Chairs: Sen. Diane Allen (NJ) & Lyndsay Moyer (Comcast, NBCUniversal)

Committee Responsibilities:

  • Remain informed on current state and local issues
  • Develop policy areas of focus based on surveys of NFWL membership
  • Identify shared legislation that would be beneficial for NFWL members to have access to
  • Review, evaluate, and approve proposed resolutions to be presented at the Annual Conference
  • Collaborate with NFWL policy staff in the development of policy programming
  • Identify potential policy experts who can disseminate knowledge to NFWL members

Members: Treasurer Allison Ball (KY), Rep. Karla Drenner (GA), Sen. Judy Emmons (MI), Rep. Jodi Hack (OR), County Legislator Kara Hahn (NY), Rep. Dianne Hesselbein (WI), Rep. Pat Hurley (NC), Rep. Helene Keeley (DE), Sen. Donna Kim (HI), Rep. Jean O’Sullivan (VT)

Co-Chairs: Rep. Sherry Gay-Dagnogo (MI) & Sen. AJ Griffin (OK)

Committee Responsibilities:

  • Identifying, developing, and implementing the Foundation’s programs
  • Helping to identify additional programs that would be beneficial to the members (Women’s History Month, Grab N Go Programming, Issue Summits, etc)
  • Assisting in the implementation of these programs (recommending speakers, providing input for presentations, etc)

Members: Rep. Mary Jo Daley (PA), Rep. Kim Dudik (MT), Mayor Candice Hollingsworth (MD), Committeewoman Sheree McGowan (NJ), Rep. Holly Raschein (FL), Rep. Chrissy Sommer (MO)

Chair: Freeholder Serena DiMaso (NJ)

Committee Description:

  • Led by the Chair of Membership and composed of the State Directors
  • Direct efforts toward increasing participation in the Foundation’s activities and programs

Members: Click here to view our State Directors.