Councilwomen in District 3 and District 4 Appointed to Serve on National League of Cities’ 2021 Human Development Committee

Wednesday, June 23rd, 2021

CONTACT: District 4: Rosana Galaviz, (210) 602-4069

District 3: Kristy Hernandez, (210) 207-0969


SAN ANTONIO (January 13, 2021) – Councilwomen Rebecca Viagran (District 3) and Dr. Adriana Rocha Garcia (District 4) have been appointed to the National League of Cities (NLC) 2021 Human Development Federal Advocacy Committee. Both Councilwomen were elected to a one-year term and will provide strategic direction and guidance for NLC’s federal advocacy agenda and policy priorities. The appointment was announced by NLC President Kathy Maness, councilmember, Lexington, South Carolina.

“As a rookie on Council, I am honored and grateful for the opportunity to form part of the NLC Human Development Committee,” stated Councilwoman Rocha Garcia, “Serving and advocating on behalf of the residents of San Antonio on a national level continues to be a priority based on the need to invest in people, especially those who live in under-resourced communities.”

“It is an honor to continue my service with NLC and serve on the 2021 Human Development Committee.  The work in this committee directly aligns with the work done recently, including the support of DACA and Dreamers, strengthening  economic workforce development with San Antonio’s Ready to Work program and the implementation of a Covid-19 mass distribution site for residents living in the Southern Sector of San Antonio.  This committee will allow District 3 to bring the solutions and experience we have championed here in San Antonio to a national level,” stated Councilwoman Rebecca Viagran.

Both Councilwomen are liaisons for the SA Ready to Work Advisory Board and recently worked together on the implementation of a mass Covid-19 vaccine distribution center in the Southern Sector of San Antonio.

As committee members, both Councilwomen will play a key role among a diverse group of local leaders in shaping NLC’s policy positions and advocating on behalf of America’s cities and towns before Congress, with the administration and at home.

“Our federal advocacy committees are the voices of what’s happening on the ground in our communities,” said Kathy Maness, councilmember of Lexington, South Carolina, and President of the National League of Cities (NLC). “I am proud to have Councilwomen Rebecca Viagran and Dr. Adriana Rocha Garcia join NLC’s 2021 committee on behalf of their residents. Together with a team of local leaders from around the country, we will work to solve the most pressing challenges facing our communities.”

The Human Development Committee is responsible for developing policy positions and leading NLC’s advocacy on issues involving social services, children and learning, poverty and income support, employment and workforce development, equal opportunity, education, Social Security and seniors, individuals with disabilities, public health care, mental health parity, and immigration reform. Most recently, the Committee’s work has focused on workforce investment strategies to support local economies, including career and technical education and investments in training, advocating for comprehensive immigration reform including a legislative solution for Dreamers, and working to ensure that federal resources to combat the opioid epidemic make it to the local level.

The leadership of this year’s committee will consist of Chair Elizabeth Carr-Hurst, Mayor, City of Fairburn, GA, Vice Chair Kacy Kostiuk, Councilmember, City of Tacoma Park, MD, Vice Chair Sharmin Shahjahan, Trustee, Village of Hanover Park, IL.  Other committee members include:

  • Gale Brewer, Manhattan Borough President, City of New York City, NY
  • Chris Callender, Council Member, Ward 1, Village of Oakwood (Cuyahoga County), OH
  • Yvette Colbourne, Commissioner, City of Miramar, FL
  • Mark Conway, Council Member, City of Baltimore, MD
  • Sona Cooper, Alderwoman, Town of Spring Lake, NC
  • Rosa Ferraro-Santana, Alder, City of New Haven, CT
  • Nicole Frank, Mayor Pro Tem, City of Commerce City, CO
  • Doreen Garlid, Councilmember, City of Tempe, AZ
  • Rose Glover, Mayor Pro Tem, District 2, City of Greenville, NC
  • Laney Harris, Board Member, City of Texarkana, AR
  • Francisco Heredia, Councilmember, District 3, City of Mesa, AZ
  • Lioneld Jordan, Mayor, City of Fayetteville, AR
  • Junie Joseph, City Council Member, City of Boulder, CO
  • Mike Lockhart, Mayor, City of Muscle Shoals, AL
  • Leta Mach, Council Member, City of Greenbelt, MD
  • Teresa Mosqueda, Council Member, Position 8, City of Seattle, WA
  • Corina Pfeil, Councilmember, City of Kenmore, WA
  • Cristal Retana, Council Member, City of Farmers Branch, TX
  • Kevin Schilling, Councilmember, City of Burien, WA
  • Karl Skala, Mayor Pro Tem, City of Columbia, MO
  • Yolanda Trout-Manuel, Council Member, City of Auburn, WA
  • Laura Weinberg, Mayor, City of Golden, CO

For more information on NLC’s federal advocacy committees, visit:

Follow this link to read more.