South Carolina Senators Honored with 2023 Profile in Courage Awards

In a stirring moment of unity and courage, five South Carolina senators are set to receive the prestigious 2023 John F. Kennedy Profile in Courage Award. Notably, each of these remarkable women is an active member of the National Foundation for Women Legislators (NFWL), emphasizing their dedication to leadership and change.

Katrina Shealy, Margie Bright Matthews, Mia McLeod, Sandy Senn, and Penry Gustafson made history by forming a bipartisan coalition to filibuster a near-total abortion ban in their state. Their unwavering commitment to safeguarding women’s rights has earned them this well-deserved recognition.

The John F. Kennedy Profile in Courage Award celebrates those who demonstrate exceptional political courage. These senators exemplify this by taking a bold stand to protect the rights and choices of women in South Carolina.

Their actions serve as a powerful reminder that courage knows no boundaries and that collaboration can bring about meaningful change. The NFWL is proud to have these outstanding leaders in its ranks, and their dedication inspires us all. Their achievements extend far beyond South Carolina, showcasing the lasting impact of strong, dedicated leaders.